Vuzz is an Indie-Electronica duo that creates high-spirited dance tracks, smoky downtempo jams, and art house grooves with hints of Phantogram, Alvvays, Massive Attack, and Paul Oakenfold. Sultry vocals, samples, rap, spoken word poetry, and contagious beats are the signature of Vuzz’s first self-titled LP, released in March of 2022.

In 2018, New Orleans-based couple Christy and Mike formed Vuzz to busk electronic music across Europe. Three months traveling by train meant the whole rig had to fit in one carry-on suitcase. Armed with only a couple battery-powered mini-synths, a mic, an amp, and a few iPhone apps, Vuzz performed on board a train through the Belgian countryside, a rooftop overlooking Mt. Vesuvius, the streets of Polish Old Towns, and the Royal Mile as an official act of Scotland’s legendary Edinburgh Fringe Festival. 

Back in the states, Vuzz busked in the street-music mecca of the New Orleans French Quarter, as well as performed at classic alternative music clubs like the Howlin’ Wolf Den, Saturn Bar, and Bar Redux to eclectic crowds.

Like many, Covid-19 was hard on the couple, with profound trauma and the loss of Christy’s son nearly stopping Vuzz in its tracks. It took months of healing and hardship, but the couple’s promise to each other to get back on the road gave them the strength to record their first full-length album, completed at home in lockdown. They leaned into the new technology of the pandemic era, working long-distance with Nashville engineers Dennis Sager and Edsel Holden to mix and master the album over Zoom meetings.

But an album wasn’t enough. To commit fully to their dream of traveling the world and playing music, Vuzz gave up their New Orleans apartment and possessions in favor of a completely DIY conversion of a small Nissan NV200 van. Together, they built the minimalist van with a maximalist aesthetic to reflect the whimsy and wonder they desired to still see in the world.

Vuzz traveled full-time across the US thoughout 2021/2022, releasing singles to promote their upcoming debut LP, and living in their largest project, “Vuzzvan.” Their expanded, yet fully portable rig enabled them to play in places where other bands couldn’t: the beaches of Moonrise Kingdom Bay, the Painted Hills of Oregon’s high desert, and the cliffs of Maine’s Acadia National Park, to name a few.

In September of 2022, Vuzz relocated to New York City, playing in clubs across town, and recording a vanity record project with Leestavall Studios.



1. Tranquility

2. Strange Structures

3. Squish Funk

4. Cosmic Creme Fraiche

5. Glimpse

6. Voices

7. Now It’s Jazz

8. Wishing Well

9. Pocketknife

10. Heaven




TEXT US: Christy at 504-814-0280 or Mike at 973-820-3738